Some of my favorite things: Brain dumps & quotes

Since it’s Friday, I figure I’ll write a more light-hearted post about what I’ve come across as of late. Because, why so serious (all the time)?

So first, here is my brain dump for all to marvel or roll your eyes at:

1. I’ve been gymming (not a real word) and watching what I eat pretty meticulously for a short while now. Yesterday, I felt great and clothes fit perfectly. This morning, I put my favorite jeans on and they were not fitting so well. Cue crying fit because how can this be so? I’m chalking this one up to the weather because some water & breakfast later, my jeans are fitting fine at work. The human body is so cray. (Yes, yes I know the word I’m looking for is bloated but I rarely get that way unless I’ve just feasted. Waking up that way was abnormal.)

2. I’ve had a major case of baby brain this last month, give or take. I’m so thankful I have friends who have had kids, who are willing to tell me all of the gross things that come with being pregnant, laboring, and giving birth. On top of that, all the things that go into actually rearing children. Since I’ve never been around babies all like that, this shit makes my head spin. Stories about things being the size of quarters that might not normally happen in a non-pregnant world. And a very clever anecdote from a mommy blogger (who holds nothing back – this I can appreciate) who brought the term “vasshole” into my life. Erm, set the alarm for birth control.

3. I’m stuck in this “I-have-no-effing-clue-what-I’m-doing” mode when it comes to my IMC book. Time to dive in. Right now, I’m sure I look like “say what?” Envision quizzical dog look. That’s me.

And now that I’ve spewed the randomness on you, here is a little more thought in the rest of this post. My favorite inspirational/motivational quotes, arranged by what it’s inspiring/motivating me to do. I cannot simply have one.

  • “In three words, I can sum up everything I know about life: It goes on.” – Robert Frost. Dear Bobby Frost got it right. I try to live my life the way I want to. I try to remember that I only have this one life to make it right (unless the Buddhists are right). If things look bleak, I try to find the positive in the situation at hand. Why? Because no matter how earth shattering things might seem, not matter what I think or feel about it; life absolutely goes on. It goes on with me in it or not in it. 
  • “A Nation is not conquered until the hearts of its women are on the ground.”Cheyenne Proverb. This is just one of those things that keep me motivated when I think of the work and the difference I’d love to contribute in Indian Country. This is what makes me very proud to be a Seneca woman and in the situation I am in. This is why I fight to make people understand that we aren’t a costume to be worn, your children cannot be “Indian” just because they play in an appropriated model of a traditional tipi, and we are real and around. Just like many others like me, my heart is not on the ground; we are still here.
  • It will all be worth it in the end…” This is probably the number one thing that got me through undergrad and what continues to propel me through graduate school. This is what my mom said to me when she forced me into Youth Leadership Erie County in high school (which I turned out to love), badgered me into applying and going to Cornell for their HS Summer Studies program (which I really turned out to love), and taking on all kinds of extra curricular activities. And now here we are, six months from getting my master’s degree, the highest level degree attained in my immediate family. The degree my father so badly wanted to get he was willing to do it at 40-something years old. So far all these things have been worth it…
  • The answer is always no unless you ask…” This is what my parents always said to me growing up. If I want something, I have to just go ahead and ask for it/work for it. I shouldn’t sit back and wait for things to come to me/happen to me. These have been amazing words to live by.

 

And I’m sure there are so many more that I live by daily. In fact, I was trying to think of a single one I go by when I’m working out but the workout seems too tough. But I want to keep going. Mostly, it’s a series of inner monologues that tell me to stop being a baby and to tough it out. Just one more set…

What are your favorite quotes to live by for any situation?

One thought on “Some of my favorite things: Brain dumps & quotes

Leave a Reply

