Seth Was Here.

Yesterday, I had the privilege of sitting down with 150 or so other communications professionals in the Buffalo area to hear esteemed marketing blogger and entrepreneur Seth Godin speak at the Burchfield Penny Art Gallery.

An eloquent and deeply intelligent individual, Godin suggested that we take time to write (blog – digital, you see) every day. It’s an exercise in thinking and archiving thoughts one might not think to remember otherwise. I think the pre-digital era writers call that journaling, but in the era of connections and networks, it makes sense to write thoughts down and keep it open and vulnerable to critique and praise, alike. So here I am.

I don’t have the luxury of a copious amount of time I can dedicate to this particular post, but it has been a while since I’ve written anything. And for as commendable a speaker as Godin was, I felt I owed it to my time yesterday to take heed to his advice.

Godin’s speech was filled with facts, ideas, and thought-provoking anecdotes, so much more than I can write about at the moment. But here are some key take aways I got from him:

  • Don’t be afraid to fail. I’m taking my failures and I’m owning them. No excuses anymore. 
  • Average is just average. Strive to be weird. In the words of Godin, no one recommends an average restaurant. Thankfully, I got a huge start on this as I’ve been pretty damn weird since 1989.
  • Take risks. For a brief moment, I wondered what would happen if I left my current program to pursue other interests? What would happen if I dedicated my time toward actively contributing ideas, thoughts, and actions to Indian Country? I don’t think I’m quitting my program, but if I did, would it be so bad? Would it really define the rest of my life to quit? Nah. But I put that baby to bed for now. But I am going to take this one risk and ask myself and anyone reading this, why in a room of 150 or so Buffalo-area communications professionals, was I the ONLY non-white attendee? We have to do something about this.

These points are all pretty  standard fare insights for a talk, but Godin just frames it so well. His exuberance and intellect really provoked me to consider things I need to consider.

Many thanks to the folks at the Advertising Club of Buffalo for bringing Godin back to Buffalo!

For a deeper account of what his talk was about, you can check out the Buffalo News’ recap here.

 

Leave a Reply

