Love is… {It’s a lovefest.}

Love is love is love.

If two consensual adults can make the decision to love one another, then why not let them get married?

And I am 100% against this “…because the bible told me so,” nonsense. I could go into some length but the point here isn’t to point out the obvious fallacies of this argument.

Marriage is a significant symbol that people want to use to show their commitment to one another, to the world. I’m not a religious person, and Mark was raised Catholic (and a litany of other things), but isn’t very religious either. But we feel strongly about being married. We’re excited to be married! It’s important and it’s not because we’re pledging ourselves to some creator. We’re pledging ourselves to ourselves. // And for the record – it was once illegal and morally irreprehensible for an interracial couple to marry. And yet… here we are!

So tell me, if that’s what it means to a large number of people, then why not let two people, who just happen to be gay, do the same?

I really hope SCOTUS comes through with this. I’m sick of hearing the religious conservative banter about how this will affect the moral landscape of our great country and countryfolk. Blah, blah, blah… moral turpentine  (Hairspray movie reference).

I am a proponent of equality, in all its forms. I was raised to look at a subject and think to myself, “How would I feel if someone did/imposed this to/on me?” The important tenant of life, which we all learn as kids, is to treat others as you’d wish to be treated.

Just remember these things:

  • Gay parents does not equal gay children. Just like straight parents does not equal straight children.
  • Gay marriage is just marriage. It will not ruin the sanctity of marriage. I think Britney Spears, Donald Trump, and anyone else with 3+ marriages took care of that a long time ago.
  • Gay marriage is not natural.” Right. And neither are the invisible braces I have in my mouth. Or the contacts in my eyes. Get over it.

I can’t wait to look back at this when I’m older, and either my gay children (hey – you never know!) or my children’s gay friends are marrying and living life unimpeded, and we can recall how ridiculous this whole argument sounds.

Much like how I view the interracial marriage thing. Silly.

Love is love is love.

Leave a Reply

