The Fitness Diaries: In which I will try this again…

Ok, so this is harder than I thought it would be. I think I need to start training that mental will before I even think of picking up a squat bar.

I need to start over on making that 21-day-a-habit thing, because the last attempt ended at Day 1.

I woke up with crazy harsh coughs on Thursday morning and the congestion was just too much to bear. So I stayed home, in bed, coughing stuff up until it was time to get ready for work. I’m so attractive.

Then we went out for dinner last night. Ugh. I got my reality check about one of my (formerly) favorite chain restaurants, Applebee’s. My mom used to love this place and we went there a lot because she wasn’t really one to cook and going out was easier than spending time cooking… sound familiar? Old habits die hard, I guess.

After I ordered the appetizer sampler, Mark, who’s been a lot more food conscious than I (sometimes) decided to swipe my iPhone and check to see the calorie content in the choices he was deliberating on.

His eyes got BIG.

He swore he wouldn’t tell me how much they were and just allow me to enjoy the Fish & Chips I got. But as soon as the waitress walked away, he told me what was in the choices.

My eyes got BIG.

Turns out, the best choices really are those Under 550 Weight Watchers choices (but still not great). And I checked what the Fish and Chips meal was. THANK GOODNESS I only ate half. Again, still not great, but let’s just say if I had eaten the whole thing, that and a snack would have been all I needed in a day.

And I had gotten the sampler because I always loved that stuff. I used to get it with my parents and sisters all the time. Guess I allowed nostalgia to take over common sense. Stupid chain restaurants!

I, of course, waited until after to tally everything up. It just doesn't seem worth it when you add the numbers together.

I, of course, waited until after to tally everything up. It just doesn’t seem worth it when you add the numbers together.

Anyway, I’m not completely obtuse. I understand that these kinds of restaurants really pack on the sauces, creams, grease to make it really fattening and calorie-laden. And I know I really only go to Applebee’s once a year, maybe twice, a year so it’s not all bad. But I’m really trying to lose weight and I allowed my laziness (and a $10 gift card that was burning a hole in my pocket) to get the best of my judgement.

After dinner and realizing I hadn’t been to the gym in two days, in what’s supposed to be my steadfast attempt at weight loss, I felt gross after dinner. And I think the chemical shit storm that comes out of these places took me over because I wound up “napping” at 8pm, from which I woke up at 11:30 to replant myself into bed.

Applebees, sorry, you lost a customer. I can’t do that to myself anymore.

So I went ahead, made some better choices today and reminded myself that it’s not like I’ll never lose weight just because of that horrible meal. If anything, it was a (re) learning experience that I needed.

Now to face the next big challenge in my weight loss/breaking bad habits adventure:

Should I throw out the leftover appetizers (because whoa calories) or keep them since I paid for them?

I’m amenable to advice on how to get over that mental boundary.

Leave a Reply

