The Fitness Diaries: It Takes 21 Days to Make a Habit

It takes 21 days to make a habit…”

I’ve heard this time and time again, and it worked last summer, and I decided to finally give it another try.

So last night, I set my alarms for 5:40 (& 5:45) a.m, so that I had just enough time to roll out of bed, eat a banana, brush my teeth, put my hair up, and have two minutes to warm up the car before it was time to head to the gym.

I was so excited that the Buffalo Athletic Club’s Downtown location finally added Total Body Sculpt in the mornings that I decided it’s time to go back and really get into it!

So I got there, walked into the spin class (TBS is only Tuesday & Thursday – Spin MWF), got my bike together and was ready to finally restart this mission to a healthier, leaner life.

Until about 15 minutes in when the evil truths of congestion stifled any breathing, and concentration, I had in the class. Even my former trainer (hopefully future trainer as well!) gave me this look of utter concern when I mentioned my congestion and trying to spin. He said, “NO! Go downstairs and just bike. Also, don’t be girly about this. You got to get that crap out of there.”

Ha! Me? Be girly about doing what I need to do to get back to health? I’m not girly, I’m a woman. An adult. I do what I need to.

I digress.

So after three, 1-minute planks (and vengeance-driven congestion), I took his advice and just biked it out. Which was A LOT easier on my lungs and focus.

I normally bike at 11-12 weight but not today. And only three miles in 13ish minutes. Not my best, but it was better than hitting snooze!

I normally bike at 11-12 weight but not today. And only three miles in 13ish minutes. Not my best, but it was better than hitting snooze!

Moral of the story?! I got through (ever slowly)  Day 1 of my attempts to get back to the gym in the mornings. It’s almost 10am now and I feel fabulous. Not a single cup of coffee/tea yet. May not need one until after lunch. And I like that. A lot.

No more excuses. I woke up feeling the heavy congestion but forced myself up anyway. Something. Every day.

Next goal to help bring me back to my best health?

We’re shopping for a bike at home!

Leave a Reply

