Some of my Favorite Things: 2012, dos. Food edition.

Just because it’s fun and I like to write and reflect on mindless things, here’s some more of my favorite things that I’ve found, tried, had, tasted, wore, read about… whatever, in 2012!

Food.

Everything with avocados when I was in Costa Rica.

Anything with avocado, really. I made this avocado sauce to put over spaghetti. Amazing!

Anything with avocado, really. I made this avocado sauce to put over spaghetti. Amazing!

Chicken Fajitas in Costa Rica.

I almost got a hamburger this day because I was starving and just wanted food. Thankfully, they were out of burger and the guy next to me said I was doing it wrong. In Costa Rica, it's best to do fajitas. Every time. He was right!

I almost got a hamburger this day because I was starving and just wanted food. Thankfully, they were out of burger and the guy next to me said I was doing it wrong. In Costa Rica, it’s best to do fajitas. Every time. He was right!

Tuna steak I had in Costa Rica.

 

Tuna Steak amazingness.

Tuna Steak amazingness.

 

Scallops.

Haddock.

Lobster Bisque at Tempo.

Salmon.

Sushi.

Sushi from Wegmans. Who knew?!

Sushi from Wegmans. Who knew?!

Crab cake.

This one is from Dug's Dive in Buffalo, NY. SO good.

This one is from Dug’s Dive in Buffalo, NY. SO good.

Black bean burgers.

Burger from Go Veggies!, a place right of Elmwood Ave in Buffalo. They hooked me!

Burger from Go Veggies!, a place right of Elmwood Ave in Buffalo. They hooked me!

 

I’m a food lover. I do not know why I am not 500 pounds. I do know now that this was a big year for seafood for me. I wasn’t too keen on it before… now I am! Just in the nick of time, too! I’ll be in a better position to eat fresh foods from the Mediterranean and when I’m in China!

And just to accompany the realizations in food this year, I have to say that my drinks of choice has changed.

I’m down to half a packet of sweetener in my coffee. I cannot drink sweet wines anymore, they give me a headache. I’m not even really loving white wine anymore, I really have to be in the mood for it. When I am, it’s a Chardonnay/Pinot Grigio mix I find at the store around the corner. But really, it’s all about reds. And gotta love Costa Rica, but I was not impressed with the homeland vinos. Pura Vida!

Ah. Time for lunch. The Sam must graze. This post calls for it.

What did you realize you love in 2012?

Leave a Reply

