How The Grinch Stole Christmas (…or something like that)

My friend’s beautiful daughter’s face is on a holiday card at my desk. I drink peppermint mocha coffee everyday. I listen to Christmas music at work (Linus & Lucy on the Vince Guaraldi album makes me happy). I awe at other people’s light/tree/tinsel displays. I cackle at hilarious children holiday photos on those priceless websites.

… and that’s the extent of my holiday spirit.

Until the 15th, I’m entrenched in mostly all things grad school. I’m at a bit of a disadvantage having to switch clients three weeks into the final course. But I’m getting work done (and feeling guilty… almost… for writing this blog rather than researching).

I have the slightest inkling that I’ll be rushing around on the 16th to break out the ol’ Nephew Christmas tree. A fake tree that’s been used and reused for more years than I have fingers. I think. I don’t know… it’s been in the basement for a long while… I’d go with a real tree, but I think we understand the patience I have for housework (read: none).

I’m the Grinch. By 9:30pm, I’m rubbing my eyes and wondering why I didn’t wait another year before starting grad school. And asking Mark to call the Dean of the school and tell her I’ve got the sniffles, I’ll be back in 2015. And by 11:15, when we’re finally getting ready to go to sleep, I’m back to remembering why I’m doing this. I look at my Mom’s picture, such a strong and passionate woman, and this is what she wanted for me. My Dad’s picture, incredibly intelligent and hungry for more knowledge, and he never got this opportunity. I realize, okay, this is it. Maybe I shouldn’t be clamoring for the acceptance of two people who have died 3/4 years ago, but I am. But for something like this, I think it’s okay.

Alright, I’m off to get to researching. I haven’t much time and I need to get it as close to perfect as possible.
At least if I pull it off, we know I can market things in a snap. Kind of 😉

Leave a Reply

