Playing Grown Up

[via Reaching Reform]

Things are looking bright as I move into this next phase of my life. I begin graduate school next week which I’m really excited about and I have some other exciting things coming my way. A couple of things are falling into place and it’s a sweet place to be.

But I can’t help but feel like I’m just playing grown up. I wonder if this is something all 20-something young professionals go through? Remember when you were a kid, and you would pick up mom’s purse, and walk around the house saying ridiculously cute things (because you were a child who thought they were saying grown up things)? That’s what I feel like my life is. About 14-15 hours a day, playing grown up, except my currency is real currency now, instead of trying to persuade my father with hugs and cookies for what I wanted.

Mark says it’s a good thing that I feel this way, and even more so, that I recognize that I feel this way. I’m not 100% sure what that means, but he’s not a one to insult me, so it must be a good thing.

Time to keep playing grown up and get some things in order. As much as it feels like playing grown up, I’m actually grown up and have to do grown up things. I blame my father for this. He taught me how to keep that child-like spirit well into adulthood. And when it’s put in that perspective, I guess I don’t mind playing grown up.

Leave a Reply

