Go Veggies! A Review…

Zagat, I’m coming for you!

Ok, not really, but I feel compelled to write a little review about this new place I just tried, Go Veggies! Cafe. My first foray into vegetarian/vegan foods. I support little local businesses, and I support this initiative because this stuff is actually healthy and delicious. Also, have you read about the owner on the cafe’s website? Isn’t that something America is supposed to be about?

Alright, so this was my first time at a designated vegetarian joint. Thanks, Groupon!

The first thing I got was a black bean burger with guacamole and tomato. I was pleasantly surprised to find it on a whole grain flatbread. This burger needed no condiments, as so many other burgers do. The bean burger was so flavorful, as was the rich and creamy guacamole. I probably didn’t even need the tomato. Alas, it was still delicious.

Did I mention that licked the foil clean of any remaining guacamole? THAT. GOOD.

Next, I ordered the spicy lentil soup. Son of a B! South Asian men are not kidding when they mean spicy. Then, it was kind of bland. I didn’t think there could be such a thing as spicy bland. I couldn’t even finish it. I don’t think I’m ready for whatever just kicked my ass in that bowl of soup.

Then I got a small order of curried chick peas whose aroma was mouth-watering. The smell just permeated out of the bag and made me salivate all the way to work. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it really is just seasoned/cooked/partially mashed chick peas with a little onion in there. The mashed chick peas were my favorite, which makes sense, because then it’s like a curry humus. Definitely worth it for a small order.

A very small helping of mango avocado salsa served as my side. Delicious, because how can one go wrong with mangoes and avocados? Add some red onion and we’re in business.

Finally, the mango pudding. It’s not like any pudding I’ve ever had before. It’s more like a gelatin than a pudding. I enjoyed it because it was still sweet because of the fruit but saturated with added sugars. Thumbs up!

And that was my experience at Go Veggies! Make sure when you stop in, to talk to Genga, the owner. Very nice man! He’s also at all the farmer’s market, so it’s worth it to stop by there if he’s around. I for one will likely stop for bean burgers at Elmwood Bidwell tomorrow.

Go for it, Buffalo. A+

p.s- I know I was just kidding, but if Zagat reads this, call me. I could definitely review food for a living.

One thought on “Go Veggies! A Review…

Leave a Reply

