Shame on you, North Carolina.

I am a staunch supporter of marriage equality and overall lgbt rights.

I think of it this way, like how my parents raised me to think, how would I feel if I were not allowed to marry Mark because of how we are.

Well, thankfully the era of disallowing interracial marriage is over, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t sympathize with people who face similar discrimination. To think that two people who are in love, and wish to be legally entitled to take care of their loved ones, are told “no” makes me livid.

Two women who have been together for 10 years, and one falls into a coma after a tragic accident. How would you feel if you’re the woman’s partner and you’re not allowed to visit with your loved one because you’re “not family.” My heart goes out to these people. They’re not inherently wrong or evil and don’t deserve such things.

Coincidentally, it infuriated me that North Carolina’s last ratification of their constitution in regards to marriage was making it illegal for interracial marriage. North Carolina’s senate and clearly bigoted voters are so out of touch with today that it’s sad. Sad for the people who this hurts the most.

I’ll keep this one short, I don’t want to rant too much. But I said I would use this as a platform to share my thoughts. There they are.

Shame on you, North Carolina. And your classless “celebration” of Amendment One passing.

 

(And say what you will but kudos to President Obama for coming out in favor of gay marriage!)

Leave a Reply

