When I Am The CEO of Sam Inc.

Someday, not now, probably not next year, but someday, I’d really love to have my own business. When I’ve become a bit more experienced in Public Relations, I’d love to have my own PR firm. And I’m most interested in having a say in everything, making decisions, and taking risks.

And while there are so many things to consider when you go into business (legal, financial, administrative), I tend to think of the following  things, because I’m still in the dreamy phase of considering a business.

  1. I want a Keurig in the office. Come the time this starts, Keurig’s might be out and space coffee might be in. I want it or something like it!
  2. I don’t require a lot of cash to live. Once Mark and I are taken care of, we don’t need a lot of play money. The rest will be invested into creating amazing jobs for people who deserve it.
  3. I want my company to have a lot of community participation. A lot.
  4. All interns will rave about my company. I will take care of them.
  5. Vacation time will be generous.
  6. Maternity and Paternity time will be generous. Also, a kid-friendly office space is ideal.
  7. Health care is absolutely a priority.
  8. I’m interested in a lateral form of organization rather than an upward chain of command. Believe me, I’m no boss on a power trip.
  9. I will know everyone and every name that comes through my place of business.
  10. Racist, sexist, homophobic, or other degrading, prejudicial/bigoted remarks will 100% not be tolerated. It baffles me that this even has to be brought up with some people, but as I’ve learned, it does.

I’ve also considered things like my business card design and the name of my company. I may have looked at desks at Office Max and considered which one might look nice in my spiffy own office. I may or may not have considered different restaurants that would be nice to hold a scholarship gala or an office party. Recycling will be a must. If I drink the last pot of coffee, I’m not above making another (same should go for everyone). I will have an open door policy, but I might keep it just slightly cracked if I want to listen to music when I work. Bagel Fridays.

These are not superfluous ideas, I think I’m building an office culture as opposed to building a business plan. But oh well, I can do that in this dreamy building phase, no?

I don’t have employees, any money, any clients, any real idea on how to realistically run a business, or a real plan for that matter, but I have an idea of where I want to take this.

That’s enough for now.

I’ve got big plans.

2 thoughts on “When I Am The CEO of Sam Inc.

Leave a Reply

