Tired and Tried, the job search continues…

I’m really singing the post-graduation blues lately and its left me uninspired, slightly less motivated, and having more pity parties than I normally care to attend. And being uninspired, less motivated, and self-loathing is the last thing an inexperienced job seeker needs to be.

Here I am, 22-years young, in a much better position than my parents were at my age, educated (and seeking further education), and generally optimistic about what fruits will become of my labors. I graduated nearly three months ago and have been on three interviews with a victory for a part-time position at Canisius College, where I work now. Along with Roswell.

Neither job is bad but neither job could support my small family alone. I posted on my Facebook wall today that I just want one job. Not two, not three part-time jobs. ONE. I’m not opposed to hard work or holding down a second job, as long as I know that at least one could wholly support us. I don’t have the benefit of a large family who can throw down “spare” money to help me out. I’m largely alone in maintaining a roof, heat, electric, and other utilities. I’m alone in this but I’m not alone and it’s scary.

The traffic in job searching is so congested. I’m competing against those with years of experience and a succinct and in-depth knowledge about what I want to do. And they’re unemployed. And likely with larger families than my own. The key here: they need less training, thus are more desirable.

Nothing I’m saying here is new nor is this an extreme case of post-graduation blues. It’s simply a singular, anecdotal message that’s indicative of a nation world-wide problem. (I recently read an article about a girl job-searching in Greece- this is where my saying “It could always be worse,” applies. Sorry, can’t find the article, I read it hours ago.)

I don’t know what else I can do to change my situation. And if you have any suggestions, please feel free to tactfully let me know. I’ve professionally networked, I’ve interned, I’ve gotten degrees, I read, I search, I woefully pay to attend lectures, seminars that will grant me further knowledge in my field. All to no avail!

Is there really such a thing as being too experienced? Do I really have to appear less qualified to be considered for a position? This has been brought up in one of my pity parties that I dragged someone to. When she said this to me, I looked at her with my straightest face and said, “Are you F*#&!ng kidding me?” The idea that all this time I’ve spent to be knowledgeable of public relations, social media, marketing, and advertising, is too much appalls me. Please don’t tell me there’s such a thing as being too qualified as an entry-level person…

Actually, do tell me. Just know that it’s going to sting me.

I’m so thankful to have such an amazing fiance who is willing to listen to me complain about this same thing week after week. It may have something to do with the fact that he’s a certified Art Teacher in a society that rids their schools of art first. He’ll rub my shoulders every time I get discouraged and reminds me that I’ve only been out of school for 1 2 3 months now and that it takes time and that I’ll see that I’ve freaked out over nothing in the long run. Dear, sweet Mr. Sam, without him and the faces of our furry children, I’d be in a much more desperate place.

I’m going to continue to wait this out. I have so many resumes out there, something has to come up. Something more career-oriented and full-time.

I don’t ask for much. I want experience in my field, a steady paycheck, health benefits, and an opportunity to start my family. And by start my family, I mean furry children and finally celebrating our decision to spend the rest of our lives together.

Life continues to test me. I’ll just have to keep being strong I suppose. I’m just frustrated.

In the meantime, I have to take the time in my day to get rid of the stress and remind myself that my life, though tough at times, is really not that bad. Yes, I still appreciate it.

Essentially, this is how I feel most of the time.

Leave a Reply

