Daddy’s Girl

This isn’t the timeliest of blogs but here’s a little something about what I’ve experienced this New Year’s weekend.

As of December 31, it’s been three years since my father passed away. One of my biggest teachers and best influences in my life, it’s been incredibly difficult dealing without your father. Especially as a self-proclaimed Daddy’s Girl, sometimes I feel like I’m missing a piece of my heart.

But the good news about having gone through a third anniversary is that it was easier. Not quite easy but it was easier to go on with my day. I spent a fraction of the time thinking of that last day I had with him. By the end of the night, I was able to focus on the festivities of New Year’s Eve and looking forward to the future.

To all my friends, family, and Twitter pals who have experienced loss recently, it does get easier. It’s going to take a lot of time but if you trust in your strength, you’ll get through it. My father and mother raised me to be self-sufficient, strong, and independent and because of those traits, I’m doing alright.

Enjoy the family and friends who are still here.

I know my parents would be infinitely upset with me if I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

